Courtney Crawford

Welcome to the Language home page. For more information on the Language department, please contact our department chair - Courtney Crawford at courtney.crawford@ignatius.org or by phone at 312.432.8551. For a complete faculty and staff contact list, please visit our Contact Info page.

Crawford, Courtney Department Head/Spanish Teacher courtney.crawford@ignatius.org 312.432.8551
Alfaro, Karin Spanish Teacher karin.alfaro@ignatius.org
Barclay, Anne Spanish Teacher anne.barclay@ignatius.org
Doherty, Megan French Teacher megan.doherty@ignatius.org
Gillilland, Lauren Teacher lauren.gillilland@ignatius.org
Grens, Cheryl Spanish Teacher cheryl.grens@ignatius.org
Guiu, Anca French Teacher anca.guiu@ignatius.org
Guzman, Armando Spanish Teacher armando.guzman@ignatius.org
Heisler, PhD, Raymond Latin/Greek Teacher raymond.heisler@ignatius.org
Higgs, Dolores Spanish Teacher dolores.higgs@ignatius.org
Leung, PhD, Miriam Chinese Teacher miriam.leung@ignatius.org
Pozen, PhD, Thomas French Teacher tom.pozen@ignatius.org
Sparapani, Matthew Latin/Greek Teacher matthew.sparapani@ignatius.org
Wale, Carmen Spanish Teacher carmen.wale@ignatius.org
Wood, PhD, R. Jay Latin/Greek Teacher jay.wood@ignatius.org
Zhang, Yizhe Chinese Teacher yizhe.zhang@ignatius.org


Latin

Student Testimonials About Our Latin Program

Latin FAQ

Saint Ignatius Classics Trip

Why take Latin?

Mandarin Chinese

Information about our Chinese program

Study abroad opportunity through NSLI Y

Summer immersion program in Taiwan

French

Information about our French program 

Spanish

Placement Information for Incoming Freshmen

Language Department Trip to Spain

 

 

Mr. Sparapani Wins Illinois Classical Conference Teacher of the Year Award

Mr. Matt Sparapani was recently honored by the Illinois Classical Conference as their Teacher of the Year for 2015. This award was presented at the Annual Meeting of the ICC at Monmouth College, October 3, 2015. Magister Sparapani has taught Latin and Greek as well as Ancient Greek and Roman History at Saint Ignatius for the past 11 years. He was honored for his commitment to classics both at Saint Ignatius and in the greater Chicago community. Mr. Sparapani moderates the Classics Club, helps organize the Illinois Certamen League and helps to run the annual Illinois Junior Classical League State Convention. He also leads students on the biennial Classical Odyssey Tour, which toured ancient sites in Greece this past summer.