Bevans Breaks CCL Record & Wins Lawless Award

At the Chicago Catholic League Track and Field Championships, senior Malcolm Bevans jumped 14.61 meters (47 feet and 11.25 inches) to win the event and break the 33-year old league record.
It was, of course, also a new Ignatius record, and it is the number one jump by an Illinois high school athlete this year.  After the meet Bevans was voted by the coaches as Tony Lawless Athlete of the meet.
As a team, the Wolfpack finished second of out 13 CCL teams, scoring 92.5 points behind Loyola Academy’s 176.5.  Sophomores Thomas Fitzpatrick (2:07) and Jack Rhyner (2:06) and juniors Henry Gilbert (2:07) and Brody Hanlon (2:06)   started the meet with a win in the 4x800 relay, running a season best time of 8 minutes 27.62 seconds.  Sophomore Tony Tirado won the 300-meter hurdles in a personal best time of 43.36.  Bevans also won the long jump with a leap of 6.82m (22-04.5).  First place earns All-Conference honors.
The second place trophy was a team effort, as the Wolfpack picked up points in 13 out of 17 events.  Junior Isaac Rice scored 17 points, with fifth place in the 100 (11.56), second in the 200 (23.15), and fourth in the long jump (6.15m).  Sophomore Alex Ditsch (54.30) and junior Mark Williams (54.33) took sixth and seventh in the 400, and Williams was also fifth in the 200 (24.05).  Junior Sam Hansen jumped 1.67 for third in the high jump, and he also placed fifth in the 1600 (4:42.40).  Junior Zach Kiley jumped 2.90m for seventh in the pole vault, and he also placed sixth in the 1600 (4:45.33).  Tirado (17.58) took fifth in the 110 high hurdles.  Rhyner (2:07.97) took eighth in the 800.  Freshman Brandon Mendoza (10:56.28) was eighth in the 3200.  In the 4x400 relay, Tirado (54.0), Rhyner (54.2), Fitzpatrick (54.5), and Ditsch (53.0) ran a season best 3:36.08 to place third.
“This is a season like no other, of course, and we competed in a hot day in June for the first time ever,” said Coach Ed Ernst.  “This was a team effort, and it is a young team that will return everyone except Malcolm next year.”